Vacationland Driving Academy, which operates in classrooms at Falmouth High School in Falmouth, ME, is a resource for student drivers in Cumberland County.

In addition to the state-approved 40-hour program for beginning drivers seeking their Class C license,
VDA also offers private lessons and road test preps.


The VDA advantage is individualization.

Company owner and instructor Randy Greason customizes the presentation of material to accommodate a variety of learning styles. This approach is why students consider Randy to be a patient, respectful and knowledgeable instructor.

Randy holds a B.A. and an M.Ed. and has over 40 years experience in education. With Vacationland Driving Academy, he draws on a lifelong commitment to helping young people succeed in the classroom, on athletic fields, and in the world at large. He worked full-time for five years at Falmouth High School before turning his full focus to driver education. In recent years he’s taught driver’s ed to students from high schools throughout the region, including:

 

Bonny Eagle
Casco Bay
Cheverus
Deering
Gorham
Gray-New Gloucester

Greely
Falmouth
Freeport
Lake Region
McAuley
NYA
Poland

Portland
Scarborough
St. Dom’s

Westbrook
Windham
Windham Christian
Yarmouth

 

The Learning Process

 

Time Commitment:
30 hours classroom instruction
3 three-hour classes per week for 3+ weeks

10 hours driving practice
5 two-hour sessions (usually)

After program completion:
6 months minimum of permit driving comprising at least 70 hours with qualified driver prior to taking road test
(Must be 16 to take road test)

After passing road test: 
9 months with restricted license


Class Work

test.png
 

A student must be 15 years old the day a series of classes begins. 30 hours of classroom instruction, per Maine law, are offered. The final written exam requires a score of 80% to pass.

The state requires that any missed classes be made up. This can be done during the next cycle of VDA classes, or by arrangement with the instructor.

Curriculum for driver education in Maine is largely dictated by the state. All driving schools use the same texts, How to Drive (AAA) and the State of Maine Motorist and Study Guide, and choose from the same list of approved DVDs. VDA uses the most current available.

The Bureau of Motor Vehicles mandates that the first three classes include topics such as signs, road markings, signals, right of way, speed limits, visibility and protective systems, basic operating systems, acceleration, deceleration, and steering.

Subsequently, the Academy covers such topics as responding to peer pressure, dealing with weather conditions, emergencies, car systems and maintenance, and preparing for the road test.


Road Work

driving.png
 

Driving begins upon completing the first three classroom sessions, passing an eye test, and meeting physical requirements. Students typically drive in five two-hour segments to attain their ten-hour total of behind-the-wheel instruction.

Students are usually scheduled for individual driving times, but paired sessions are also available if requested. Sessions are scheduled after school and on weekends, and daily during the summer. Usually students can be dropped off at their homes after driving sessions.

Students will drive in a variety of rural, residential, urban, and freeway settings. Skills emphasized include familiarity with vehicle systems and controls, starting the car, pulling into and out of traffic, turns, tracking, braking, backing, turning around, lane changes, yielding, merging, and parking. Safety is emphasized, as are techniques for fuel conservation.

A parental involvement exercise is also an important (and mandated) part of the course. Parents are always welcome to visit classes or to ride along during driving sessions

Structure

VDA classes meet three times a week for three hours, a total of ten times in a little over three weeks. Missed classes must, by statute, be made up. This can be done during the next cycle of VDA classes, or by arrangement with the instructor.

Students typically drive in five two-hour segments to attain their ten-hour total of behind-the-wheel instruction. Students are usually scheduled for individual driving times, but paired sessions are also available if requested. Sessions are scheduled after school and on weekends, and daily during the summer. Usually students can be dropped off at their homes after driving sessions.

Parents are, of course, always welcome to visit classes or to ride along during driving sessions.

VDA offers six classes a year at Falmouth High School.  Start dates are early March, late April, late June, late July, mid October, and mid November.  All classes meet Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday (with adjustments for holidays).  Summer classes meet 9 AM—noon; all others meet 3–6 PM.

Fees, Services, Refund, and Cancellation Policy

  • VDA's goal is to provide driving instruction at affordable and competitive RATES. Please call 892-0686 for current prices. 
     
  • Students who must CANCEL driving times must do so by calling 650-7307 with at least six hours notice. Shorter notice or no notice can result in a $20 rescheduling fee.
     
  • REFUNDS are available at any time for students who withdraw from the course. A $50 registration fee and a $40 fee for each hour of driving time previously completed by the student will be deducted. In extenuating circumstances, students may receive credit towards a future class.
     
  • Information regarding CANCELLATION BY VDA of classes or driving due to weather or unforeseen circumstances will be available at 650-7307. Every effort will be made to individually notify in advance students scheduled to drive. 
 

Vacationland Driving Academy
(207) 650-7307

Email vacationlanddriving@yahoo.com 
for fees and schedules for upcoming classes.

VDA teaches classes at Falmouth High School.